When I listen to the radio, I have a marvelous time appreciating the beauty of music. After a long spate of mediocre songs, though, I get a little frustrated that there aren’t any good songs broadcasted. But then, unexpectedly and much to my delight, a song I like is played, and I relish in the magnificence of the song. So I thought to myself, why don’t I take note of all the songs I liked and played them on demand on YouTube, so I won’t have to endure the unexceptional songs? With that, I set off to indulge in some music orgy. But it seemed like the songs were somewhat lacklustre from their usual selves, it just didn’t quite climax and send shivers down my spine like they did before.

 
Then I realised why. Without the many mundane, insipid songs that I had to tolerate, the good songs didn’t seem special anymore.

Perhaps it’s not good to have everything you want. Perhaps it’s better to live through the humdrum of mundane life, and when something beautiful comes along, the intensity of its beauty and novelty will be magnified luxuriantly. So when you feel dismal about how routine and uninspiring life is, just be patient and bear with it, great things will come. There will always be a part of me longing for something, missing something, but I’ll be reminded of this analogy and understand that without the dull monotony of the everyday, the rarity of wonderful things will go unappreciated. 

Bittersweet Symphony by The Verve

